The Little Foxes

We know how to bind and cast the devil when we are faced with serious issues in our marital life; however, we hardly take notice of the enemy when he comes subtly. As such, quite often the damage may already have been done before we realize that the evil one has been at work.

“I have been waiting for you to get ready; it took you forever. Anyway, you can go with the children as I am not ready to go late to church; will rather stay home today”. “He has left the toilet seat lid up again”. “She does not know how to boil eggs; I like my eggs soft boiled”. “Is it that he did not hear me or he is just ignoring me?” “You left the toothpaste cap on the sink”. “You did not fuel your car; the tank is almost empty as usual”. “I am not a little boy; don’t talk to me that way”. “Is it that he does not know where he got the shoes from or he is waiting for me to tidy up after him?” “I will not respond to her today; she just likes nagging”. Mama’s boy, I am sure the mum has told him to do this”…

One or more of the above comments may resonate with us. The list is endless; these are some of the insignificant things that irritate couples and build walls between them. I choose to call them the ‘little foxes that spoil the wine of marriage’ (remember the little foxes of Song of Solomon 2:15). Once we allow these irritations to get to us, they start taking on lives of their own and grow into monsters that we may not be able to tame. These little things have a way of creeping into relationships and at such point couples start taking each other for granted. Foxes subtly burrow into the soil and that’s the same way these little irritants gain ground in our hearts and we magnify them.

“God intends and expects marriage to be a lifetime commitment between a man and a woman, based on the principles of biblical love. The relationship between Jesus Christ and His church is the supreme example of the committed love that a husband and wife are to follow in their relationship with each other.”  ~ John C. Broger 

Christ loves His church unreservedly; He loves us with all our imperfections and failings. That is the same way that couples should overlook each other’s failings and seek only those things that promote peace and wellbeing of the union. There is no perfect woman or man out there and we sometimes make the mistake of equating our marriage with ‘this or that couple’s; you don’t know their story.

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.” ~ 1 Corinthians 13:4-6,

Consider these; am I being patient with my wife/husband in the areas of her/his weaknesses? Do I belittle my spouse in front of other people? Do I listen to my spouse? Couples can never over communicate. Do I forgive easily or am I the type that needs my partner to go extra miles before I can forgive a wrong? Am I selfless? We can and should be tolerant of one another. Make every effort to make your union a better one; minor changes in your attitude can make a lot of difference in your marriage.

© Making Wedding Vows Count

=====================================================================

Leave a Reply

